14 vie to be ARMM governor, 16 for vice governors

14 vie to be ARMM governor, 16 for vice governors

When the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) closed on Friday the period of filing certificates of candidacy (COCs) for the August 8 Autonomous Region in Muslim in Mindanao (ARMM) polls, there were 14 aspirants for the gubernatorial post and 16 for the vice gubernatorial post.
But Comelec Spokesman James Jimenez said that the number of candidates could still be reduced as the poll body still has to screen their COCs.
The candidates include incumbent and former governors of the ARMM and of provinces not only in Mindanao but also one from Luzon; a former party-list representative; and a former police director.
The 14 candidates seeking to get elected ARMM governor are:

  1. Ashmaira Mayasa Abdullah
  2. Mamintal Alonto Adiong (incumbent Lanao del Sur governor)
  3. Saad Ibrahim Amate
  4. Pangalian Macaorao Balindong
  5. Ephraim Baldomero Defino
  6. Mujiv Sabbihi Hataman (former Anak Mindanaw party-list representative)
  7. Alvarez Silal Isnaji (former OIC ARMM governor)
  8. Ansaroden Magangcong Sani Banuas Luman Moner
  9. Pax Pakung Sandigan Mangudadatu (former Sultan Kudarat governor and representative)
  10. Kadra Asani Masihul
  11. Datu Habib Sarifuddin Samanodi Maulana
  12. Elsie New Orejudos
  13. Saidamen Balt Pangarungan (former Lanao del Sur OIC governor)
  14. Sahiron Dulah Salim (former police director)

For Vice Governor, 16 candidates have filed their COCs:

  1. Acting ARMM governor Ansaruddin Abdul Malik Alonto Adiong,
  2. Mikunug Pangcatan Ampao
  3. Arab Dimasimpun Ampasao
  4. Shariffa Ziola Anding Bago
  5. Datu Pelaez Alo Carudin
  6. Margarita “Tingting” Delos Reyes Cojuangco (former Tarlac governor)
  7. Bobby Mana-ngaran Datimbang
  8. Alikhan Awar Dimaro
  9. Gani Usman Gaddung
  10. Abdulbasit Ampaso Hadjinor
  11. Omar Tani Hassiman
  12. Fatani Sultan Abdul Malik
  13. Basher Dimalaang Manalao (former Lanao del Sur governor)
  14. Kano Pasandalan Nor
  15. Marconi Curso Paiso Al Haj
  16. Abdusakur II Abubakar Tan

Incumbent ARMM assemblyman Khadafy Mangudadatu, the brother of Maguindanao Governor Esmael “Toto” Mangudadatu, had earlier filed a COC for vice governor but then chose instead to run for re-election in the ARMM Regional Assembly.

The campaign period for the 2011 ARMM elections is set for June 24 to August 6. Election day is August 8.

On Friday, PDP-Laban introduced Mangudadatu and Cojuangco as the party’s official candidates for the regional polls.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: