Army’s YOUTH FOR PEACE in Maco, Comval national finalist in Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations

The YOUTH FOR PEACE in Maco, Compostela Valley was organized by the Army’s 71st Infantry Battalion to become the latter’s partner in promoting peace and development outreach programs in the municipality.

That was the humble vision for its organization. Youth leaders are very passionate and dedicated enough to hit a very good record of their members who in turn are very active in the group’s various activities.

The 71st IB commander, Lt. Col. Camilo Ligayo, believes in the capability and the power of the youth to play a vital role in reaching out the people, in bringing the government closer to the people.

After it was organized, the Maco Youth for Peace members are the active partners of the Army battalion to conduct outreach programs like medical and dental mission, peace rallies, bloodletting activities, tree planting, Gawad Kalinga, rescue operations, among others.

The passion to be always of service is there for these young fellows. This took the recognition of the Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations (TAYO) Foundation, an award giving body that recognizes and supports the outstanding contributions of youth organizations to the country.

TAYO Inc., the National Youth Commission, and the Office of Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan organize the annual search for TAYO.

The search is presented by The Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines and sponsored by the Philippine Center for Young Leaders in Governance, Starbucks, PAGCOR, Department of Social Welfare and Development, Department of Agriculture, TeaM Energy, Jollibee, Bank of the Philippine Islands, Ninoy and Cory Aquino Foundation, SM Supermalls and SM Cares Foundation.

Without hesitation, the Maco Youth for Peace joined the search. On September 15, 2011, the organization received a letter from the NYC affirming its inclusion to the Area Finals for Mindanao that was held last September 23. Of the ten organizations all over Mindanao, the group was on the Top 5 to represent Mindanao in the National Finals.

In last year’s awarding on December 10, 2010, no less than President Benigno Simeon Aquino III gave the award in Malacañang.

Winners of the TAYO Award received P50,000 cash grants from the Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines and trophies specially crafted by artist Toym de Leon Imao. The winning groups also received gift certificates from Jollibee.

The following special awards were also given: Coke Barkada award from Coca-Cola Foundation; Best Financially Managed Organization award from BPI; TeaM Energy award for protection of the environment; three Gawad Kabataan Agri-Pinoy awards from the Department of Agriculture (DA); and two special awards from the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD).

Last year’s winning organizations are:

• Pro Drop-out Reduction Program, Surigao del Sur

• Mandaya Tribal Youth Organization, Mebatas, Upper Ulip, Monkayo, Compostela Valley

• Pag-asa Youth Association, Talisay City chapter, Cebu

• Pagaypay 4-H Club, Barangay Pagaypay, Passi City, Iloilo

• Link.Exe West Visayas State University, Iloilo City

• Brotherhood for Peace, Baguio City

• Education Revolution Movement, Sta. Maria, Bulacan

• Pochon and Maanichar Centennial Batch Association, Inc., Ifugao Province

• Alay ni Ignacio, Ateneo de Manila University, Quezon City

• Philippine Stagers Foundation, Balic-Balic, Manila.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: