Davao City among the 7 city qualifiers for the search of New7Wonder Cities

DAVAO CITY —  Davao City is showing great in the ongoing search of New7Wonder Cities as it placed second from areas of South East Asia and Oceania after the second phase of the nomination process was completed on March 7.

In its website http://www.n7w.com/cities, it showed that Vigan topped the list and followed by Davao City. Other Philippine cities who made it the shortlist were Iloilo, Cebu, Cagayan de Oro, Bacolod and Parañaque.
These seven Philippine cities were only among the more than 300 cities that qualified for the search.
The city government of Davao, under the leadership of Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio and Vice Mayor Rodrigo Roa-Duterte, is leading the campaign in voting for Davao City to make it to the prestigious list.
The city government has even launched the “Davao City for New 7 Wonders Cities” Facebook account to actively campaign and urge Davaoeños to get involved and vote for Davao City.
Davao is dubbed as the Most Peaceful City in East and Southeast Asia for seven years and is home to the “Best Police Office in the Country” for six consecutive years.
The city is among the 17 cities from the Philippines to qualify for the next phase from among the thousands of cities around the world.
The New7Wonder Cities search is the third campaign organized by New7Wonders, following the man-made New7Wonders of the World and the New7Wonders of Nature.
Meanwhile, in the nomination phase (January 7 – March 7, 2012) the global vote for New 7 Wonder Cities starts with more than 1200+nominees from 220+ countries around the world.
The Qualification Phase (March 7 –November 23, 2012) will have more than 300 cities to qualify for this phase (one per country plus the top 77 voted). While in the Shortlist Phase (November 23 –December 6, 2012), from the top 77 voted during the qualification phase, the New7 Wonders Cities Panel of Experts advises on the selection of the 28 official finalist candidates.
The finalist phases which runs from December 7, 2012 – December 6, 2013), voting continues across three phases. The official New 7 Wonders Cities, voted by hundreds of millions of people from around the world will be revealed on December 7, 2013. (ASA)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: