Lagdameo files COC in Davao Norte, may run unopposed

By Anthony S. Allada

TAGUM CITY – Second district Rep. Antonio F. Lagdameo filed Monday afternoon his Certificate of Candidacy (COC) here to seek his third and last term even as no names crop up to challenge him in the congressional race.

Lagdameo, who founded the Kusog Baryohanon as their local party that is affiliated with the newly-formed National Unity Party (NUP), was accompanied by his uncle, former Rep. Antonio “Tony Boy” Floirendo, and partymates.

Before going to the Commission on Elections provincial office, the party attended a Holy Mass celebrated by Fr. Lucas Carisma at the Gambriel Resort in Panabo City and later took their oath as Kusog Baryohanon members.

“I am very much delighted that District 2 is once again united and strong as we approach the forthcoming May 13, 2013 mid-term elections. Unity binds us together in the pursuit of progress and development for our municipalities, district and province,” Lagdameo said.

He said speaking of unity, his party signed a covenant with the local Liberal Party officials “to respect one another in the coming election.”  That means, their candidates will be unopposed and respected by the Liberal Party in District 2 and in return Kusog will be respecting LP candidates in District 1.

Lagdameo said their group will be supporting Governor Rodolfo del Rosario and Vice Governor Victorio Suaybaguio on their third and last term of office.

Del Rosario’s group will be reportedly LP’s standard-bearers in Davao del Norte, including his son, Rep. Anthony del Rosario of the first district.

Three incumbent board members in the second district – Janet Gavina, Ely Dacalus and Hernanie Duco – are running under Lagdameo. The other two are Austerio Obenza, former vice mayor of Island Garden City of Samal, and Ernesto Evangelista Sr. Both of them also already filed their COC Monday afternoon.

The second district’s four of the five incumbent mayors are running under the Kusog party. The five incumbent vice mayors are also with the group while 90 percent of the incumbent city and municipal councilors are also running under Kusog.

The four mayors are Jose Silvosa Sr. of Panabo City, Aniano Antalan of Igacos, Lolita Moral of Braulio Dujali and Marcelino Perandos of Carmen. Former board member Danilo Lu is running for mayor in Sto. Tomas to succeed last-termer Mayor Maximo Estela. (ASA)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: