Digong for mayor, Polong for vice mayor

By Anthony S. Allada

DAVAO CITY – Vice Mayor Rodrigo Duterte is making a comeback as the city mayor replacing his daughter, Mayor Sara Duterte, who is not seeking reelection supposedly to attend to her delicate two-month pregnancy.

Duterte’s Certificate of Candidacy (COC) was filed by first district city councilor Melchor Quitain at 2:58 p.m. Friday, the last day of COC filing. Quitain, a lawyer, is the secretary-general of Hugpong sa Tawong Lungsod, the local party founded by Duterte.

Five others also filed their candidacies for mayor but they were considered token candidates. They are Rodrigo Sulamin, Rolly Solis, Magdaleno Marcellones Jr., Teodoro Mantilla and Rodrigo Buezon.

Duterte’s son, Association of Barangay Captains president Paolo Duterte, is running for city vice mayor and also a  sure winner since he has no opponent.

The younger Duterte, barangay captain of Catalunan Grande, filed his COC at 4:35 p.m. Friday, together with another Hugpong candidates — former Vice Mayor Luis Bonguyan who is running for first district congressman and former first district councilor  Leo Avila who wants to be back in his old post.

Bonguyan is facing incumbent congressman Karlo Alexei Nograles, son of former House Speaker Prospero Nograles, and lawyer Elly Pamatong.

In the second district congressional race, incumbent Rep. Mylene Garcia-Albano is again challenged by businesswoman Joji Bian and two neophytes – Jennel Nagayo and Ulysses Lopez.

Third district Rep. Isidro Ungab, who is on his third and last term, is running unopposed.

Sixteen candidates are running for city councilor in the first district. They are Eufronio Galaura, Carlos Cirilo, Joanne Bonguyan, Reynaldo Camingawan, Lorenzo Cañada, Jackson Reyes, Melchor Quitain, Leah Librado, Bonifacio Militar, Edgar Ibuyan, Maria Belen Acosta, Emmanuel Galicia Jr., Jessie Mar Culaste, Nilo Abellera Jr., Lyndon Banzon and Leo de Ocampo Gonzales.

In the second district, 16 city council aspirants are also running. They are Danilo Dayanghirang, Marissa Salvador-Abella, April Marie Dayap, Diosdado Angelo Mahipus, Jimmy Dureza, Malyn Cabling, Angelo Abelardo Aportadera, Ricky Nalagon, Arnolfo Apostol, Winston Randolph, Richel Patiganzo, Laarni Calixijan, Tomas Monteverde IV, Al Ryan Alejandre, Gerald Anthony Bangoy and Louie John Bonguyan.

Seventeen others are running in the third district, namely Victorio Advincula Sr., Eduardo Santander, Rene Elias Lopez, Rachel Zozobrado, Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz, Jose Marie Bernardo Baluran, Allan Ostique Sr., Victorio Advincula Jr., Bernard Al-ag, Rogelio Montajes, Mary Joselle Villafuerte, Eduard Trinidad, Gerardo Braganza, Allan Dolor, Karlo Bello, Antoinette Principe and Kenneth Jade Jomale. (ASA)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: